The End

“The Only Thing We Have To Fear Is Fear Itself” ~ Franklin D. Roosevelt

Endings are hard.

There’s always a part of me that never wants a story to end after all the hours spent sitting up late at night turning pages, as I follow a beloved character through their adventure. (Or sometimes, adventures.)  Because you know when you turn that last page, that’s it, it’s over. There’s no more to the story. If there’s anything left unresolved it stays that way and it’s up to you, the reader, to try to figure out why the author left that last question unanswered.

But maybe it’s better that when there is a scheduled time for a conclusion – that it happens. It’s always better to be left wanting more, than dragging out a plotline too much with weary readers who want nothing more than for the story to be over.

I thought about it. I though about continuing this blog past October 20th. I need to confess to you that my reasons have less to do with you, and more to do with me.

I am a creature of habit. I try not to strain myself too much. But this blog – for all my complaining about the challenges, how tiring they were, how many times I failed them; in the last few weeks I realized, I would miss them. Honestly, my biggest fear was this: there were so many challenges I never achieved, would I ever make the effort to attempt the ones that were incomplete? Would I return to my old patterns and behaviours and be the person who said, hmmm, that sounds like fun, but I can’t do it. 

In the last couple of days, I’ve taken time to reflect on this blog: what it meant to me, and what it continues to mean to me. It was my experiment you see. To push myself outside of my comfort zone and start saying yes to things I wanted to do.

And wow, I did them. Here are some things (there are a lot, so this is just a snapshot) that I did this year:

  1. Dressed up as a pug for Halloween
  2. Made fruit cake from a recipe
  3. Made lemon meringue pie
  4. Participated in the Polar Plunge
  5. Ran the Hypothermic 10 KM run
  6. Climbed the CN Tower stairs (All 1,776 of them!)
  7. Played paintball. (I think my bruise FINALLY healed!)
  8. Played laser tag
  9. Completed the CN Tower Edgewalk

Things that I wanted to do, but didn’t get done (they are in no particular order):

  1. Play on the extreme trampoline.
  2. Indoor Skydiving
  3. Learn to dance (tap, Irish dance, swing…anything!)
  4. Learn to play my guitar
  5. Go for a big hike in a park in Gatineau (I can’t remember the name of it, a friend of mine told us about it last year)
  6. Take a step class (one of those free ones offered at the gym)
  7. Go to Bonnechere Caves
  8. Take a cooking class
  9. Put my lego set together

I learned many things from this blog. The biggest one was this: I tend to overthink things, and most challenges I stressed over, there was nothing to fear. (And now the quote at the beginning of this post probably makes more sense.)

The truth is: I had a lot of fun.

But maybe that’s the biggest lesson to take from this blog. There is commuting to work, and work, and household chores, and groceries that need to be purchased to make breakfast, lunch and dinners. But peppered in with these responsibilities is life. It’s sharing a drink with family and friends, playing paintball or laser tag, and running Hypothermic races. It’s the moments that we take the time to participate in, and savour, that makes the other chores and responsibilities worth it.

Pushing Boundaries is not complete for me, and I hope it never will be. Because I hope there’s always a new recipe to try, a new sport to play, and an instrument to learn. If I must confess, I’ve already started to look into the Winterman race here in Ottawa, and there is that Lego ship I need to build.

After all, my life is a work-in-progress. There are more adventures to come – if I choose to pursue them.

***

Total challenges completed: 102 (With the CN Tower Edgewalk it was 103, but -1 because I did not read 10 books.)

Last thing: I plan to post another video as a final tribute to Pushing Boundaries. The video should be completed by October 22nd.

Leave a Reply

