Change #90: Minions In The Air

Minions hovered above the empty school on a a warmish summer’s day. They were on the lookout for new recruits that were willing to join the mastermind Gru.

Ok, not really.

But, there were Minions in the air. One Minion in particular that was stuck to my kite.

Yes, that’s right people. I flew a child’s kite over the empty school grounds about an hour ago.

I have to say, that I don’t know at what age it became wrong to have fun. When I purchased my kite a month ago, I had to stop myself from providing a lie to the cashier that would go something like this: Yeah, I’m buying it for my kids. They’ve never flown a kite before.  

I don’t have kids, but the cashier would never know. The person processing my order never asked, but for some reason I thought I needed to defend myself. It felt as if all eyes were on me, that people somehow knew the kite was for me, and they would know that I would be the old woman trying to build and fly her kite that was designed for children.

The building part should not have been as cumbersome as it was. It was two sticks that you had to stick in the sides. Somehow I still managed to get it wrong. My husband very gently pointed it out to me when I showed him my assembled kite and asked, “Did I do it right?”

He looked at it, turned it over, and said, “Oh, well, the string is suppose to be on the other side.”

“Oh,” was my only response. I quickly corrected my error.

After it was assembled, it sat in my office for close to a month. I thought about flying it early in the morning, or late at night, when all the kids had cleared the parks. For some reason I was still scared of neighbours that would glance at me and say, what is she doing? She doesn’t even have a kid with her?

Those days came and went. As the sun finally poked it’s way out after almost a week of rain, and I had a day off from my job, I decided today would be the day.  My hubby agreed to come with me to be my photographer. As well, I suspected he also realized he needed to be my coach after I said at breakfast this morning, “You know, I don’t think I’ve ever flown a kite before.”

We had wind, but for some reason we struggled to get the Minion airborne. Let’s call this minion, Bob. Bob fluttered, and flapped, and crashed on a few occasions. My husband showed me how to hold it up, how to keep tension on the string, and encouragingly said that once he’s in the air, it’s easy. I struggled with the instructions, walked one way, walked another, took off in a small trot and still nothing.

At one point I turned to my husband and said, “My blog entry will be, kite-fail.”

My husband looked at it and said, “It’s weird. Normally there’s a tail.”

“Oh,” I laughed and added, “There is one.”

I had forgotten to unravel it.

We tried again a few more times.

Then….

Liftoff…

Bob was in the air.

I have to say, it was exhilarating. After spending so much time wondering whether I should or shouldn’t fly a kite, the time it took to build it, and the time it took to get the kite to be carried effortlessly by the wind, it felt like I had accomplished something.

Something that was so small, but for some reason, felt big.

Leave a Reply

