Change #84: 21 Days Of The Streaking Life

Definitions:

Option 1: long, thin lines of a different color from their surroundings, especially on dyed hair. ~ Taken from Google Search (Yeah, it won’t tell me where specifically this definition comes from)

Option 2:  Streaking is the act of running naked through a public place as a prank, dare or an act of protest. ~Wikipedia

Here’s my guidelines for streaking:

  1. I must run a minimum of 2 KM
  2. I can run any time of day. (Although morning would be ideal before I get too constrained by societal norms, requirements and expectations.)
  3. I must have some way of measuring the distance I ran. The easiest way to measure would be to use my sport watch. But if this fails me, (it happens, I don’t know why) I can use Google Maps and calculate the distance based on Google’s calculations. However, I must under these circumstances, run at least 2.5 KM, in the odd extreme case, Google maps has logged an incorrect amount of 2 KM when in reality it is only 1.5 KM.
  4. I must streak for the next 21 days consecutively. NOT ONE DAY SHALL BE MISSED. If I fail to meet this requirement, I lose this challenge and we subtract one. AGAIN. (Anyone keeping track? How many changes have I failed to meet so far in Pushing Boundaries?)
  5. Proper running attire is not a requirement. I need only wear my running shoes. (Oh, and sport watch!)

I’m calling them guidelines, NOT RULES, for a reason. The reason is this: I believe that I am a rule breaker.  Tell me I can’t do it, and I will do it. It’s a guarantee.

And these are the guidelines I will adhere to in order to complete 21 days streaking.

Naked….

NO! Surely, NOT! 

Sure, the blog is called Pushing Boundaries, but as Captain Picard said in Star Trek, “THE LINE MUST BE DRAWN HERE!” (Oh, and now Sheldon from the Big Bang Theory says it too!)

And that’s one line I WILL NOT CROSS. In case anyone out there had any doubt. I thought I would just say it.

Ok, that’s done.

There is a 3rd definition for streaking and this comes from the website for Runner’s World:

“The goal is simple: Run at least one mile per day, every day, starting on Thanksgiving (Thursday, November 24) and ending on New Year’s …”

Now, you will notice we are nowhere near Thanksgiving either in Canada or the USA. But, I read about this a few years ago in a Runner’s World Magazine and they suggested it be done for 30 days and when I read it, it was splat in the middle of summer. And I thought, What a great idea!

Then I did it!

Well, for all of 11 days….

And I’ve decided now would be a good time to try this again. I’ve been thinking about this challenge for several months; however with the training for the CN Tower Stair Climb that wrecked my ability to climb even a single flight of stairs and prevented me from walking anywhere for several days after “training”, to applying makeup for 30 days, to the blonde hair – I simply could not realistically see me completing more than 2 days of running 2 KM in a row. I deferred the challenge, deferred it again, waited, and reconsidered how to tackle this blog so I could get some of the bigger things done.

Now we’ve cleared those things away, ENTER STREAKING….

You’re probably wondering why only 21 days though, right? Well, it’s because I’m going away in a few weeks for a weekend, and I honestly don’t know if I will have access to a treadmill, or if I will be able to run outside.

Sure, I’m being strategic. But I do want to succeed at this challenge.

I love to run. It makes me happy, relaxes me, helps me sleep better, and I think I might be smarter when I run. There is so much clarity and peace. I miss that. 

This morning was Day 1. Remember the concept of: I do not need proper running attire? I made that decision this morning. I decided I make things WAAAYYY too complicated!

This morning I ran in a cotton t-shirt (it was my CN Tower Stair Climb Shirt), sweat pants, and a regular bra.

I really need to simplify things.

And here’s my proof:

Although, I think next time, I will make the effort to use a sports bra. Ladies, you know what it’s like trying to work out without one. Men – just use your imaginations.

And just for the record, I’m not being completely strategic with this challenge. If I was, I would have waited until the summer when the forecast was for a full week of sunshine.

Instead, below is the Ottawa weather “guess” for the next week:

Thu, 20 Apr Mainly cloudy. High 11. UV index 5 or moderate.
Night Cloudy. Periods of rain beginning in the evening. Wind becoming east 30 km/h in the evening. Low 7.
Fri, 21 Apr A mix of sun and cloud with 60 percent chance of showers. High 15.
Night Cloudy periods with 30 percent chance of showers. Low plus 5.
Sat, 22 Apr Sunny. High 12.
Night Clear. Low plus 2.
Sun, 23 Apr A mix of sun and cloud with 40 percent chance of showers. High 16.
Night Cloudy periods. Low plus 2.
Mon, 24 Apr A mix of sun and cloud. High 12.
Night Cloudy periods. Low zero.
Tue, 25 Apr A mix of sun and cloud. High 13.

We are all over the map: RAIN! It’s warm! It’s below zero. Sunny! RAIN!

Let the good times roll!

***

Same rules go for this post, as with applying makeup daily. I will post updates intermittently.

If I fail, you’ll know.