Change #72: Avoid The Writing Vortex For A 9:30 PM Curfew

Drafted This At 6:25 AM This Morning (Before Work) 

It is 6:25 AM right now as I draft this blog post.

I am a delinquent bedtime child who refuses to go to sleep and continues to negotiate my bedtime schedule on a daily basis. I rise from my slumber every weekday morning at 4:30 AM to allow for sufficient time to eat breakfast, walk LBM, shower, and commute to work.

I know I should sleep more.There have been studies that show it impacts a person’s mood, has been linked to depression, increases a person’s risk of heart disease and cancer. In spite of this, I refuse  to make an effort to go to sleep before 10:30 PM or on other days, I don’t slink into the bedroom until 11:30 PM. That means some nights I am only averaging about 4 1/2 hours sleep.

I am trying to make more of an effort to get to bed earlier as I have noticed some problems such as:  I have difficulty making decisions, I can’t string two words together to save my life when writing, I am more emotional, and often times more clumsy. (I will drop things 3 or 4 times in a row.)

The problem is that the evenings are my only time to really concentrate on my writing. For this reason, sometimes I find myself caught in the writing vortex – that’s how I refer to it. It’s the beautiful spot where I’m on a roll, making huge strides in my writing, and then my eyes occasionally  drift down to the bottom right of my screen as I watch the minutes tick by on my computer. Or, maybe I’m not making any real progress at all. However, by going to bed it will mean that the only time I will get to work on my writing again, will be the next night after a full day. Or, maybe I get caught in the vortex just because I love to write and it’s hard to drag myself away from my computer. (There appear to be many reasons why I refuse to stop writing well past bedtime.) Either way, before you know it, I’ve lied again to my husband when I said, I’ll be in bed in 10 minutes.  

But tonight I am going to be in bed by 9:30 PM. This doesn’t mean I will be asleep. It just means I’ll be snuggled in and making an effort.  Hopefully with the extra beauty sleep, I won’t feel like the walking dead on Thursday.

Why did I draft this post early?

To avoid the writing vortex.  

(Ack! After work tonight, I almost got caught in the VORTEX doing revisions! Pulling self away from computer! Must prep for bedtime!)

***********************************************************************

Face is washed and moisturized.

Teeth are brushed.

Bed is made.

Hershey’s bed is made.

Picture of Time When I Am Ready to Go To Bed: 

20170314_212648

Goodnight everyone! It’s officially 9:30 PM!