Day 3: My Blue Sweater

I honestly thought that I would quit this challenge yesterday. I was not in the right frame of mind to wear something bold that says, look at me, I’m a force to be reckoned with!  Instead, my emotions ran along the lines of please, I just want to hide/disappear. 

Then an odd thing happened to me within an hour of wearing that red shirt. I felt fearless and in control of my life as if every moment is mine, and I can choose what I do with it.

I felt like that until I spilled tea all over it. (This is normal for me.) You can dress me up but you can’t take me out.

I’m kidding. In spite of the tea stains, I still felt in control.

And maybe that’s the point of dressing better. On days when I feel defeated, wearing nicer, brighter clothes gives me the extra boost in confidence and makes me feel like I AM in charge, and I can do anything.

Nothing major happened yesterday. I am not up for a promotion as CEO of a company, nor did a major movie producer contact me to say he/she wants to turn one of my short stories into a movie. All indications show that my life is exactly the same as it was the day before. But, I felt better about myself wearing the red shirt.

Today, I’m wearing a blue sweater that I haven’t worn in 6 months. I believe even though this is not red, the lighter colour of blue (versus grey or black) will make a difference in how I feel.

It would seem that if I am already slightly blue (pun!), and I dress in dark clothing, it exasperates the feeling of helplessness that I sometimes feel. It would never have occurred to me that the small choices I made in relation to colours of clothing, could contribute to my sense of well-being.  If I never started this blog, bought the red shirt, or wore it to work (it all happened because of this blog) I would never have known.

20170215_071047

Tomorrow – my STAR TREK SWEATER!!

Leave a Reply

