Preparing for the Polar Vortex

Ok, it’s less of a vortex and more of a plunge. But for me it will feel like a vortex when I jump into the St. Lawrence River on Sunday.

In an earlier post, I mentioned that I had a plan to prepare. My plan was simple: eat well, get extra sleep and get more exercise. So far, not so good.

I woke yesterday with pain in my calf and tension in my neck. My body has decided to seize up well ahead of the plunge as a small reminder that what I am contemplating/already committed to is insane.

But I am not one to quit so easily. Especially as I already posted on my blog that I will be doing the polar plunge. Really, once you put it out there in cyberspace there’s no backing out.

I have my costume and I purchased a sweater and sweatpants to put over my outfit before jumping into the icy water in order to stay extra warm prior to my plunging experience. The purpose of this post is to say adieu for now as I take my vitamins, attempt to get much more sleep than usual, and get some exercise before this event. I’m basically treating this as the last week after all the training is done when preparing for a marathon or half-marathon. It’s all about making sure you don’t get sick.

Last thing, if there are those that are still interested in sponsoring me here is the link again:

https://secure.e2rm.com/registrant/FundraisingPage.aspx?registrationID=3647293&langPref=en-CA

I will see you on the other side.

***********************************************************************

NO WAIT! NOT THE OTHER SIDE!

I’m sure it will be fine. I won’t be whisked away in an ambulance because I drowned because my hands were too numb and I lost the ability to doggy paddle. It will be fine.

Fine, I say.

***********************************************************************

Oh, updated weather forecast. Mother nature is sort of working with me. Except for that snow. That can go away.

Sat, 4 Feb Sunny. High minus 3.
Night Cloudy periods. Low minus 9.
Sun, 5 Feb Cloudy with 60 percent chance of flurries. High zero.
Night Cloudy with 60 percent chance of flurries. Low minus 9.

 

Leave a Reply

