Change #42: Spaghetti With Meat Sauce

With tonight’s post, I will have multiple vegetables added to my diet for today. Although, it may seem odd given the title of this post. But the vegetables we used included: garlic, onion, parsley and carrots that we put into our homemade meat sauce.

20170107_164140
I’m the vegetable wizard at peeling and dicing! Ok, maybe not. 

I did the peeling and dicing while hubby mixed it all together that made this incredible meal. I love making our own spaghetti sauce as it’s one of the few dishes that we do not use a recipe for which guarantees a different sauce each time. I always insist that we use fresh garlic and onion when we make this dish. (When hubby and I first started living together we used garlic powder and onion salt. But, this gives the sauce a salty taste and less like onion or garlic.)

20170107_185706

For the first time all week, no drama involving vegetables. Haha! Finally!

Although it does help to constantly check google to see what is classified as a vegetable. I must confess too, that I am relieved to learn that I am not alone in categorizing foods incorrectly.

One person I spoke with today that I told about this blog and my week of near-vegetable-fails said, “Well, you could have squash.”

And I said, “Nope, it’s a fruit.”

Later in the day I met with a friend, told her about my week of vegetable blunders, and mentioned that I planned to make meat sauce tonight to meet my objective of this blog entry.  I began rhyming off all the foods that I knew were officially vegetables. She wanted to help and said, “You can use peppers. Those are vegetables.” Then, there was a pause and she asked, “Right?”

I replied, “You know, I really don’t know anymore.”

She texted me later and: wait for it, wait for it, – turns out peppers are a fruit. 

How many posts have I done with vegetables? I think this one makes 4. Whew!

What a week. Who knew vegetables could be so difficult?

***********************************************************************

P.S. – How many of you thought that I would miss the deadline of midnight given that I am uploading this post close to 10:30 PM? Everyone, raise your hands!

Leave a Reply

