Change #38: A Vegetable A Day

Some changes you can do for one day. When I do the Polar Plunge I suspect it will happen just the once. There will be no repeats, and most likely, there will be no double-dips on my part.

But some changes should be done more frequently.

I have a nasty habit of not eating vegetables. It’s not because I don’t like them; quite the opposite. The problem that I have is making time to slice, dice and cook them. The only time I can think of managing vegetables would be in the evenings but honestly, it’s so much easier just to grab a chunk of cheese and call that dinner.

Here’s my challenge: I promise to eat at least one vegetable each day for the next 7 days. (And will post a picture daily. There will be two blog posts today: one from last night and one for today’s vegetable.)

That will be 7 changes each day for the next week. Now, some may think that I will be cheating here because this isn’t really considered “Pushing Boundaries”. But, I disagree. I rarely cook dinners and therefore by extension never eat vegetables. I call cheese “dinner” most evenings.

My vegetable quest began last night when we had prosciutto, brie cheese (Ok, I have a problem. I know. But I said I would add a vegetable, not give up cheese.) and wait for it…drum roll…..NUKED ASPARAGUS IN THE MICROWAVE!

20170103_184426
Yummy, asparagus…

I’m trying to prove to myself that it’s not that hard to eat vegetables. At some point, I really need to be a grown up and with small baby steps this week, maybe I can turn this into a lasting change.

So, here’s to 7 days of vegetables. And if I miss one day, with not so much as a nibble on a carrot, I’ll remove all previous blog posts. That means that if I do 5 days of vegetables and on the 6th day I get lazy I’ve lost all 5 entries and they don’t count. I’ll be behind in this blog. It’s punishment for sheer laziness.

Bring on the vegetables….

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

