Change #30: Create a Snow Angel

The five-year old me would not hesitate on plopping on my back in the snow, swishing my arms and legs back and forth in order to create my master piece: a snow angel.

When did making a snow angel become forbidden? Did I know the last time I made a snow angel it should have been my last? I can’t remember. But I have to tell you, I miss the freedom I had as a child.

I was going to do this on my back deck, away from the prying eyes of my neighbours. But this blog is about getting out there and doing things that I wouldn’t normally do. I am very good at hiding. I am the expert at being invisible.  I could teach a course.

So why not. On my front lawn is where I did my work. But given the late hour (almost 8:30 PM that I finally made this piece of art) no one saw me. It wasn’t my intention to avoid  spectators. After all, I freely did a pathetic attempt at skateboarding down my road where at least one neighbour watched me with an eyebrow raised.

But sometimes there is no audience around because it’s too late. It may not be the perfect time to do something but I’ll do it anyways. I have put many things I’ve wanted to do on hold for a very long list of reasons: I’m too tired, I don’t have the time, I’m not dressed for it, I don’t have the money. There will always be an excuse.  Some examples of specific items? Deviled eggs, lemon meringue pie, and going to the National Art Gallery for a Special Exhibit.

There is always my full time job, clothes to wash, dishes to clean, cleaning my floors, and hitting the gym. (That’s assuming I ever get back to the gym before I have to run the dreaded 10 KM Hypothermic in March). But, I choose now to steal a few moments where I can remember what it was like to be a little girl in pigtails, that enjoyed creating snow angels, snow ball fights, and building snowmen in a winter wonderland.

 

Leave a Reply

