Change #26 & #27: THE POLAR PLUNGE WITH FUNDRAISER CAMPAIGN

POLAR PLUNGE DETAILS:

CRAWFORD WHARF 

KINGSTON, ONTARIO

DATE: FEBRUARY 5, 2017

When I originally thought of doing the Polar Plunge it was 25 degrees Celsius in Ottawa. Today, it is 2 degrees Celsius.

It felt cold this morning when I stuck my head out the back door as I decided how I should dress to meet a friend so that we could walk our dogs together. I decided full winter gear appropriate: I pulled my  green sweater on that belonged to my father before he died almost 8 years ago (weird, it still feels like it was yesterday) and zipped up my puffy, purple parka. As I pulled my gloves on, I surveyed my hands that have already begun to crack and bleed from the cold. And that made me wonder about the Polar Plunge.

You see, registration when I checked first thing this morning, showed it had finally opened.

TOP 10 QUESTIONS THAT I ASKED MYSELF: 

1) Can I get flesh-eating disease if I jump into a body of water in the dead of winter with open cuts on my skin?

2) Can I get a bacterial infection if I dive into polluted water in the winter?

3) How long does it take for someone to get hypothermia?

4) What happens if I have the flu that week?

5) What happens if my tummy is upset from all the stress of worrying about WHAT COULD GO WRONG that ….? (you know)

6) Can I drink the night before?

7) Should I build up my fat insulation over the next couple of months? (I think I remember reading that’s what a woman did who tried to swim across Lake Ontario)

8) What happens if Kingston is having a blizzard that day?

9) How long must I stand outside before I Plunge?

10) THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT – WHAT, OH WHAT, COSTUME SHOULD I WEAR?

I have to tell you that I have been obsessively waiting for registration to open. Mostly, I suspect if given more time, I would back out of it altogether.

This would be my conversation with friends and family:

Friends would say, “I thought you wrote you were doing the Polar Plunge?”

My response, “What? I never wrote that.”

Then I would run home and revise all earlier posts where I mentioned it. (There’s always a loophole.)

But the day is upon me. I have registered. And I have to tell you, in terms of Pushing Boundaries, if I ever did think about doing this before, I would have been swayed by all the people who have already said to me, “Are you crazy?”

My response, “Yup, Yup. Clearly.”

Something else I would never do: build a Fundraising Campaign. I myself, always feel a little guilty when I don’t contribute to a fundraiser. Whether it is the grocery store that raises money for CHEO (our hospital for sick kids in Ottawa), MADD, or money for Cancer Research; many of us give as much as we can but we simply can’t support all the charities that are around.

But that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t give people the opportunity to help out if they want to support you. So here’s my fundraiser page. Please give what you can and remember every cent counts whether it is $2 or $10.

https://secure.e2rm.com/registrant/FundraisingPage.aspx?registrationID=3647293&langPref=en-CA

I’ve already paid the registration amount to take the PLUNGE so I’m going in whether I want to or not. But by fundraising, no matter how much I raise, it gives me less chance of backing out because of a “blizzard” or the “flu.”

And that’s two changes for me: AND DEFINITELY PUSHING BOUNDARIES.

 

Leave a Reply

