Change #24: Klondike Bar vs Magnum Double Peanut Butter Ice Cream

I do love my Original Klondike Bars. It is the best of both worlds; vanilla ice cream on the inside, with a hard chocolate shell on the outside. You get just a little bit of chocolate and lots of vanilla.

If there was any doubt about how unadventurous I am, here’s an example. When I go to Baskin Robbins for an ice cream cone I will have one of the following flavours: chocolate, strawberry or vanilla. Yes, that’s right. You read that correctly. VANILLA. If ice cream could be more reflective of a person, I am the Vanilla Girl. Keep your cherry and bubble gum flavoured ice cream. I am the routine girl a.k.a. Plain Jane. My definition of really changing it up is to have cookie dough, or chocolate chip ice cream. (Yeah, I know. It’s mostly still vanilla.)

On Monday night, after battling a head cold while working a full day at work, I decided ice cream would be my reward. Instinctively, I nearly purchased a box of Klondike Bars.  And then I thought, I should try something different.

Enter, Magnum Double Peanut Butter Ice Cream…

20161128_190311

I’ve never had this ice cream before, as far as I can recall. I have a particular aversion to peanut butter desserts; not because I suffer from an allergy, but because it always feels like it’s too heavy, too decadent of a dessert. I can’t believe I just wrote that. But it’s true – sometimes I want something sweet and light. (Eg. lemon meringue pie)

I devoured my ice cream on a stick in less than 3 minutes. My pooch was perched on my lap as he watched me, hopeful something would fall. (Nothing did. Chocolate is poisonous to LBM; I don’t have many rules, but no chocolate for him is one of them.)

When I finished, I decided that I liked it; it had the hard shell of chocolate with a light peanut butter ice cream. Despite the advertising on the front of the box, that lead me to believe this would be a densely packed peanut butter and chocolate ball on a stick  – it wasn’t.

Will this become my replacement for my beloved Klondike Bar? Nope. For me, Klondike Bars rule my taste buds and while this was good, I will always love the Original Klondike Bars.

Always.

Leave a Reply

