Change#18: Deviled Eggs

Why do they call them deviled eggs?

Because, it requires you to boil eggs, scoop out the yolk without wrecking the whites of the egg, smash up the egg yolks in a bowl, add mayonnaise, (and the recipe we used also said vinegar and dry mustard) and then proceed to stuff the yolk back  into  where you got it from originally.

They are a devil to make.

I’ve eaten them; but I’ve never made them before. That is, before tonight. And tonight, after all the hard work we put into making them, hubby and I gobbled them down too.

img_20161116_192215
9 eggs, 2 people. It’s probably the same calorie count as the Chili Mocha I drank.

How many people out there are wondering what exactly I have been doing with my life? Please, raise your hands.

Will I do this again? Sure. For family or friends the next time they come over.

This blog can be completely about cooking and eating, as just like most of my life, I seldom go beyond what I know already.But, in order to beat back my ever expanding waistline, I’ll do something different. I shall try to juggle. (NOT FOOD.)

Not knives either. I’m sure no one wants to see blood. (At least, not yet.)

***********************************************************************

From Wikipedia:

The term “deviled“, in reference to food, was in use in the 18th century, with the first known print reference appearing in 1786. In the 19th century, it came to be used most often with spicy or zesty food, including eggs prepared with mustard, pepper or other ingredients stuffed in the yolk cavity.

(Who knew?)

Leave a Reply

