Change #10 – It’s Chicken…On My Pizza…

I circle the box that sits on the counter in my kitchen. I stare at it suspiciously and think: You do not belong here chicken pizza. My logical side is pushing me to return it. I can simply say that my 5 year old ordered it as a joke. (Except, I don’t have children.)

Chicken on pizza is wrong. Pineapple and ham: no problem. Pepperoni, green pepper, onion, mushroom: no problem. But chicken?

Chicken belongs in chicken wraps, grilled chicken, baked chicken, chicken noddle soup, chicken sandwiches. But this thing sitting on my counter, was Fajita Chicken Pizza.

Fajita Pizza, according to the menu I just pulled up, consists of: grilled chicken, onions, green peppers, tomatoes and fresh garlic. I had another choice of pizza that had feta on it. But, I love feta. It felt like cheating. And I really wondered what chicken and mozzarella would taste like.

It’s funny how my mind gets caught in a perpetual loop on some things. I should have known what chicken and mozzarella taste like: I’ve had it before. But, I was stuck on the question of, chicken on pizza?

And now I’ll demonstrate it in the rest of my life. I have a chocolate bar every day and sometimes twice. And if I start having it twice a day, I’ll continue for weeks and months. I have 5 cups of tea some days. (Most days it’s at least 3.) And so I can relax in the evenings, I’ll end the day with a glass of wine. I remember a time in my life, when I was in University and broke that I would have herbal tea. Where did that girl go?

I’ve been having a hard time sleeping in the last few weeks. Last night while at Chapters, I was buying my favorite stay at home Earl Grey tea and I thought, I can’t wait to get home and have a glass of wine. That should do the trick and ensure I get a good night’s rest.

Except, while alcohol is a depressant and helps me relax, it also inhibits my ability to have uninterrupted sleep.Then I looked next to E.G.(that’s the new code name for Earl Grey) and there was an assortment of herbal teas. And I remembered about the person I use to be; the girl who would drink raspberry herbal tea by the bucket full and didn’t feel terrible all the time. So, I bought some herbal tea, when I got home made it, drank it and slept through the night.

Sometimes, it’s just a matter of breaking patterns. Since the start of this experiment, I find I challenge myself on most things that I do. I came home last week with the meat lover’s pizza for my hubby because when we order pizza together we order a medium pizza with pepperoni, mushrooms, olives, and green peppers. Every. Single. Time.

We order it, because it’s the compromise. I don’t like eating a lot of meat because it makes me feel very full and slightly sick, so I lean towards vegetarian meals. The combo with olives as we call it, means my husband gets some meat and I get my veggies. It’s a win-win situation.

But is it? Does that mean hubby never gets the pizza he wants? Of course it shouldn’t. But he’s never had it with me. So last week we had a meat lover’s pizza. It was good. But I was very full.

Back to chicken. Would I have this again? It was alright.  But I think Fajita Pizza might not be my pizza. But, maybe there’s another chicken pizza in my future.

20161102_181941
This is not the weight watcher’s chicken pizza.

 

Leave a Reply

