Change #5 – The Purple Adventure Continues….

I meant to attach a picture of what I had at the bottom of my bathroom sink yesterday, before I showed you the picture of my purple fingernails. But as this is the second part of my purple life, I figured I could get it all in one shot. My collection of nail polish and makeup was not that big. Check out Exhibit A. (Just a note – I do have other lip gloss and lipsticks…but they’re all pretty similar to this.)

20161023_140558
Exhibit A – These were my “colours”.
20161023_140652
Exhibit B – These are the colours I purchased on Saturday

And the fun continues. Today, I applied this purple stuff to the tops of my eyelids. When I applied it, I really had no idea what I was doing. All I know is that you can use multiple colours, applying the lighter stuff as a base, and I think the darker stuff at the corners. That’s roughly what I did. And blended like crazy…

Yesterday, I purchased this compact of 9 colours to be cost efficient. I figured I get 9 different shades and I can try the others at a later date. However, this morning while attempting to “do my make-up”, I plopped some on, looked down at the compact and thought….uhmm….which one did I use? I had not a clue. So, I roughly started throwing colours on, trying to remember which one I used and somehow managed to forget each time. At one point, I swore I looked like a raccoon that had been punched in the eye. I spent nearly 10 minutes trying to apply eye shadow versus the 1.5 minutes I spend when I do wear makeup. 

Finally, after 10 minutes of fussing trying not to look like Mimi from The Drew Carey Show, or like a raccoon, I stepped back, threw my hands up in frustration and accepted defeat. This was how I was leaving the house.

My hubby was pacing around outside the bathroom door waiting for me as we had several errands to run. When I finally emerged, I stopped and looked at him for a moment, bracing for his sarcastic comments about the job I did with my eyes.

He popped his head up at me and said, “Ready?”

I stared at him for another moment. And then I told him about my eyes. He didn’t even notice. And this is how it looked.

20161023_102024

It’s weird how I thought it was really noticeable and he couldn’t even tell. Maybe the old saying that we are our biggest critic is true.

I don’t know how I feel about the darker colours. I’m still pretty uncomfortable with them, but if we are going out for dinner at a nice restaurant maybe next time I’ll make a little more effort and do this again. I can’t spend 10 minutes every morning on my eyes that’s all I know; nor do I want to. I have better things to do.

But the lighter purple colours you can barely notice. I can’t believe I spent all that time with nude colours when I had other choices. Maybe not as brave as the dark purple; but maybe more in the middle.

Leave a Reply

